Embark on a journey of global exploration and adventure with your International Certificate of Competence (ICC). This qualification opens doors to international waters, providing boaters with the skills and confidence needed to navigate diverse maritime environments.

What is the International Certificate of Competence (ICC)?

An internationally recognised qualification, the ICC attests to a boater’s competence and ability to navigate vessels in compliance with established standards. It is particularly essential for individuals planning to sail or motor in foreign waters, as many countries require boaters to hold this certificate.

Key Features and Benefits:

  1. Global Recognition:
    • The ICC is acknowledged in many countries, making it a valuable credential for those wishing to explore international waters.
  2. Versatility Across Vessel Types:
    • The ICC is not limited to a specific type of boat. It covers various vessel types, providing boaters with flexibility and adaptability.
  3. Boosted Confidence:
    • Holders of the ICC can navigate unfamiliar waters with confidence, knowing they have met an internationally accepted standard of competence.
  4. Increased Safety Awareness:
    • The certification process involves testing boaters on essential safety procedures, thereby enhancing their overall safety awareness on the water.
  5. Legal Requirement:
    • In many countries, possessing the ICC is a legal requirement for operating a pleasure craft. Understanding and meeting these regulations is crucial for international boating enthusiasts.

Who Needs the ICC?

  • Recreational Boaters:
    • Individuals who enjoy boating for leisure and wish to explore international waters.
  • Charterers:
    • Those looking to charter a boat in foreign locations often require the ICC as proof of competence.
  • Yacht Crew Members:
    • ICC is beneficial for crew members working on international vessels, ensuring they meet global competency standards.

How to Obtain Your ICC:

  1. Assessment Process:
    • The ICC is typically obtained through an assessment process, which may include a practical examination and a written test.
  2. Eligibility:
    • Check the eligibility criteria, as some countries may require specific qualifications or experience.
  3. Training Courses:
  4. Application:
    • Once you have met the requirements, you can apply for the ICC through the relevant authorities or organizations in your country. In the UK, this is through the RYA here.